Pacific Jewish Center | Rabbi

The Rabbi on the Beach @ The Shul on the Beach

Madoff’s alleged misdeeds spark feelings of betrayal, outrage in L.A.’s Jewish community – Los Angeles Times


Madoff’s alleged misdeeds spark feelings of betrayal, outrage in L.A.’s Jewish community – Los Angeles Times.

This LA Times article actually encompasses the points I made yesterday in my post about a similar NY Times article.

Except there are still some Jewish elitists who “disown” Madoff (the first “Rabbis” mentioned in the article”). Rabbi Adlerstein and Harriet Rossetto echoed my sentiments of learning from the incident and Madoff’s opportunity for Tshuva.

Rossetto even goes so far to say that maybe Madoff is the messenger teaching us to redefine our values. That is a good approach. That is a healthy approach.

Divorcing ourselves from Madoff by saying “Madoff does not represent the Jewish people, not even remotely” is useless and inaccurate. Firstly, no one represents the Jewish people, we each represent ourselves. Secondly, that kind of disownment is not our place as humans and fellow Jews. He is still a Jew and yes he made mistakes but haven’t we all?

Filed under: All Posts, Musings & Observations, My Links, , , ,

2 Responses

  1. milt simon says:

    I am Bernie Madoff. I want everyone to prosper. I believe every one of my investors blessed me every night before he/she went to bed and after they counted their 20% dividend checks. They counted on me, and I never let them down, Until now. So please forgive me, i did good, wanted to make everyone happy, and do mitzvahs through the charities i supported. can you blame me? regards, bernie

Leave a Reply

Learn More About Me

December 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Photos of PJC

