Pacific Jewish Center | Rabbi

The Rabbi on the Beach @ The Shul on the Beach

Malcolm Gladwell and “Perfection”


In a twist of fate I was sent this link by PJC member Judd Magilnick.

Malcolm Gladwell is a great writer and has had a great influence on my thinking. Perhaps the greatest secular influence on me of all! I have not yet had a chance to read his new book “Outliers” however I have read this NY Times OP-ED piece.

I am not necessarily agreeing with the writer’s assessment of Gladwell’s position rather I am commenting on the writer’s position in relationship to “Perfection”.

The astute will notice that this is exactly the point we made in our “Perfections” discussion. Success in not predetermined, it is our hands and our task to be vigilantly improving ourselves. Of course there are elements that are outside of our control such as location of birth, IQ, default personality traits etc. but none of those can stand in the face of our will to succeed!

I guess Malcolm Gladwell (in the writer’s view) and Rabbi Akiva will have to just agree to disagree…

Filed under: All Posts, Connections, Musings & Observations, My Links, , ,

3 Responses

  1. […] write this column, it seems random and disconnected from today’s news. It did remind me of a couple of posts I had written in the very early stages of this blog. I started this blog in December 2008 […]

  2. […] Beings Are Social Beings I have had my critiques of David Brooks from the NY […]

  3. […] of my favorite authors is Malcolm Gladwell. Previously, I have had quite a few Gladwell posts (check those out) on this blog. This is […]

Leave a Reply

Learn More About Me

December 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Photos of PJC

